h1

When I Grow Up… I Want to Work in Peds

June 10, 2008

 

Ever since I can remember, I’ve loved babies. I was three when my brother and sister were born, and my mom says that I used to love taking care of them. I always knew I wanted to work with young children when I grew up… I just didn’t know in what form. Now, at the ripe age of 27, I’ve finally decided what I want to be when I grow up.

Ok, so I haven’t decided on an EXACT discipline, but I think I may need more experience before I decide. I do know that I would like to work in either a pediatric floor, nursery, or even NICU or maternity. Anywhere babies may be… that’s my goal.

 

Lego Nurse

 I’ve heard it’s harder than some other specialities. For instance, my sister is a cardiac step-down nurse, which I think sounds really hard, but she says she has it easier than her friend in Peds. She told me, “In peds you need to know everything… your not just focussing on one system like you are in some other specialties”. I also have to admit, Infant CPR was daunting; Not only did it hurt my thumbs, but holding the rubber, lifeless body of a baby in my hands was scary. I wonder if I have the strength to deal with infant death.

 Another thing to consider is the parents. I know a lot of parents can be overzealous, (and for good reason- I would be as well!), but I will have to deal with that on a daily basis. And then there are the cases of the absentee parents. I don’t know HOW i’ll be able to deal with that. I just can’t imagine someone leaving their baby in the NICU for days on end. (I was going to make an analogy here “leaving it for days as though it were a ______  …but then I realized that there are very few things any of us universally leave for days on end).

ped nurse

Now that I have some focus, the hardest part is yet to come… putting it into fruition. I’m guessing that finding contacts in peds would be helpful, as well as seeking out my professors who specialize in Peds.     My Prof for Nursing 1 worked in the oncology dept in bone marrow transplant for children, but I was not able to make any contacts thru her. Perhaps it was too early for her to take me seriously. I’m sure the professors hear a lot of Nursing 1 student’s choosing specialites and changing them just as often.. but I am sure this is what I want to be when I grow up.

Leave a Reply

